V Boost

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ml450f

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm new here and just bought a spotless 1993 V Max. I've been riding a Honda 750 for the last 5 years, so this bike rips compared to the honda. How do you know if the V boost is working. Is it suttle or should it be arm wrenching when it hits. Its new to me, what should I expect? It has 19000 miles on it.

When you switch the run button to on you will hear a transformer sound twice 'vrrrrrrrt..... Vrrrrrrrrrrrt"

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk

It definitely makes that noise when the key is switched on. I guess I'm wondering how hard should the bike pull when it come on?

Welcome to our addiction.

After riding around a while at less than 6000 rpm , and you begin to feel comfortable , move the revs up to about 5500 rpm , in a straight line . Then tighten your grip more and move up to 6500 . Hold on tighter and twist it slowly to about 8000 & back off . Repeat until comfortable & let us know what you think . After a while , just twist it , in a straight line . Leave the turns and vboost alone until you REALLY know what you're doing and can expect.

In 3rd gear give it 1/2 to 1/3 throttle through 6500 and you will feel the surge when the vboost opens

On slight throttle, just letting the RPMs climb there should be a fairly noticeable surge of power and change in the engine's note around 6000 when the valves open.

Dropping it at low RPM in second, you'll get a major blast of acceleration when it hits. It the tire isn't warm and sticky v-boost will probably break it loose so be careful.

I also suggest you peruse this thread, it will get you "up to speed" with the Max.

Regardless of how many say the VMax w/a Kerker 4/1 "sounds like a big-block Chevy,"
the VBoost is like having a high-compression small-block 'come-on the cams.'

Well, that's my opinion!