Bike leaves me stranded, No spark? will not start

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JordonN

Reaction score
Today I decide to take the bike out for a ride. I start it up and drive out of my apartment complex, everything is just fine so far. As I pull out on to the main road I accelerate through 1st gear, and as I shift into 2nd the bike all of a sudden just dies.

All the lights work and the starter works, but the bike will not fire. It just cranks and cranks but will not fire up. Upon further investigation the bike is not getting any spark. I am not getting spark on any of the plugs.

From the way the bike just died all of a sudden I figured a fuse must have blown, but I checked all the fuses and they are good. I also had time to check the side stand switch before it got dark and it was fine.

Whats next? I am new to motorcycles but have more than enough know how, I just dont know where to start? What other type of switches or relays should I check next?

I appreciate all the help I can get!!

Thanks in advance!
-Jt

btw, it is a 2003 with only 8,000 miles on it. I just bought it about 2 months ago.

Jordan, try starting it with the side stand up, bike in gear and clutch pulled in. If that doesn't work test your pick up coil resistance. You should see a 2-pin connector near the battery on the left side. Might be behind left fuel tank side cover. Look for an orange and black wire. Should read 110 Ohms or so. If that's in spec make sure you have 12 volts going into the CDI via the red/black wire.

It only has about 25 ohms?

And what is the CDI?

what about the sidestand relay? is there any way to check that or bypass it?

This thing is driving me nuts...

WHAT ABOUT THE KILL SWITCH NEXT TO THE THROTTLE ? ROCK THAT BACK & FORTH 20 TIMES TO SEE IF THATS GOT A BAD CONNECTION . :confused2:

The CDI is your ignition. It's what fires your coils to fire the plugs.