Just got an 04

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AEmedic

Reaction score
Well, I am a newbie with a 2004 that I picked up today with 1500 miles on it. The bike is nearly perfect!

I have a few questions:

It is pretty difficult to get into neutral while the engine is running and its warmed up. It is much easier when the engine is cold. When I got done with my first ride today I had to shut it down before I could get it into neutral. What can I do to fix this?

I noticed that one of the seat bolt heads that are accesible in the fuel cap area is broken off. You can see the threads on the other side of the nut but the head is gone and the spring and hinge area is loose on one side. Is this a common thing?

Welcome to the board!

My Max is a pain to get into neutral at times as well, even more so with the forward controls now it seems.

The seat thing I can't tell ya, I had a Corbin on mine when I got it.

mines the same way , if it doesent go after 2 or 3 trys i cluch it a little and try agin then its fine .

Well, I am a newbie with a 2004 that I picked up today with 1500 miles on it. The bike is nearly perfect!

I have a few questions:

It is pretty difficult to get into neutral while the engine is running and its warmed up. It is much easier when the engine is cold. When I got done with my first ride today I had to shut it down before I could get it into neutral. What can I do to fix this?

I noticed that one of the seat bolt heads that are accesible in the fuel cap area is broken off. You can see the threads on the other side of the nut but the head is gone and the spring and hinge area is loose on one side. Is this a common thing?

I wouldn't say the broken bolt on the seat is a common thing, in fact I think yours is the first post on a problem like this. Can you post a picture of which bolt is broken? It might give us a better idea of how to fix it.