Man this thing is awesome!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlkDynamite

Reaction score
Hello All. This is my first post but I've lurked around for a few months. On Monday i became the proud new owner of a 1998 VMax. Drove 8 hours round trip to get it. Only 20,000 miles on it and cosmetically in great shape.
I've been riding a 1987 Honda VF700C Super Magna for the last 3 years. The Honda was my first bike and only purchased because i was advised by several coworkers that a VMax was not first bike material. I've lusted after one for years.
Mechanically everything seems ok on the Max. When i purchased it all the hydraulics were flat; fluid was disgusting. Thankfully with a through bleeding they all came back. The gallon of gas was old and i can see a little rust in the tank but ran on the old gas fine. Topped of the tank with 93 and some seafoam and took rode for about 10 miles. :clapping: I love it when i'm right... Perfect bike for me!
The plan is to continue going through the bike and take car of all service items. Final drive is being drained as I type this.

Attachments

• IMG_2191.jpg
    IMG_2191.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 144
  • image1 (1).jpg
    image1 (1).jpg
    75.6 KB · Views: 152
  • IMG_2177 (1).jpg
    IMG_2177 (1).jpg
    52.3 KB · Views: 149
Welcome to the forum. Perfect bike for a lot of us. Mine with 12k on her needed the same attention. Vmax's, and all bikes for that matter, need to be ridden and maintained. Enjoy.
Steve-o

Thanks guys. Hopefully I can make it to the rally.

I just pulled the spark plugs. They are oil fouled pretty bad. Piston rings or valve guides I guess. Hopefully putting a few hundred miles on it will help "reseat" the rings. The install plugs were the same ngk p/n minus the resistor. I put resistor plugs in per my clymer manual. Does anyone run non resistor plugs? And why?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk