Shifting from neutral to 1st - jerking motion

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

charlieRobinson

Reaction score
When I am a stop and I go from neutral to 1st I almost always experience a forward jerking motion on the bike. As I have no prior bike/riding experience; is this normal? Does even sound familiar to anyone?

I have no prior bike/riding experience;

First: The Max is not kind to new riders. Consider taking the MSF Basic Rider's Course and do whatever you can to learn as much as possible as quickly as possible with your new 0-60 in 3 seconds machine that has less than ideal handling. Stay safe out there.

Second: The clutch doesn't prevent complete engagement when going into gear. You will also notice pulling the clutch and staying in first is a bit harder to push the bike around than when in neutral.

So yes that sounds normal. If it's a big lurch you may want to look at your fluid color it could need fresh fluid or a bleed. Take a good look at your own brown eye :p

http://www.motorcyclistonline.com/howto/122_0306_hydraulic_clutch_service/

Some bikes sort of "clunk" into first gear. If its not severe than I would say its normal.

Now, if you are saying the bike clunks into gear hard and it feels like the clutch is grabbing and bike wants to go while in gear and the clutch lever held in, you have a problem.

On the vmax, this typically ends up being an issue with the hydraulics in the clutch system. Master or slave cylinder, or maybe as simple as needing bled.

Its possible that a problem like that could be with the basket, pressure plate, clutch plates/frictiongs but its pretty rare for that kind of issue on these bikes.

When I am a stop and I go from neutral to 1st I almost always experience a forward jerking motion on the bike. As I have no prior bike/riding experience; is this normal? Does even sound familiar to anyone?