stage 7 on my 98

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tdogmason

Reaction score
I am still learning the Vmax so please be easy, I purchased this 98 and the owner told me that the bike has a stage 7 jet kit. The bike has slip-ons and I am currently dealing with Sean Morley to get myself a full exhaust system to pull as much HP as possible. My question for this thread is, how do I tell that the bike actually has the stage 7 kit? I have read so many post about the kit and have confused myself through-out reading. My bike still has the v-boost at 6k, I can feel and hear it kick in, I though that a stage 7 was not suppose to have the v-boost. I have four K@N fillters on the carbs with no airbox, but other than that how would I know that the stage 7 was installed? I am having issues around 5k sputtering and falling off, but I am thinking that the full exhaust system is going to cure this problem. One other question, does anyone know a great Vmaxer with tunning and dyno ablility close to Maryland. I notice that alot of you fellas are in not on the east coast. I don't trust my local Stealer and most of the dyno shop specialize in Crotch Rockets and I don't want to go to a Vmax Stupid Facility.

Does it have the large breather tube coming out of the oil fill? You can have V-boost with Stage 7.

I would look into buying Morley's air box and getting rid of the separate filters.

You can also look in the top of the carbs and see the little brass air correctors pressed into the jets on top if it has stage 7.

I can't answer all your questions but I'll try on a couple.

Stage 7 kit is a selection of slide needles, jets, air correctors (to allow the airbox to be removed) and V-boost eliminator tubes.

The Filters are sold separately.