Steering lock

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmioton

Reaction score
Greetings All.

I have an '88 VMax that I unfortunately must park on the streets of NYC. I've just hit 11k miles today, and she's in beautiful stock condition. A few days ago, someone backed into my bike, knocking it down while the steering lock was engaged. Now, it won't lock in position, as I assume a pin inside was broken. Any idea how to replace that lock?

Also, I've read some threads about gas mileage for the VMAX. Mine is around 18-22 in the city. I drive smooth, low rpms (with a few exceptions!) and still my mileage is awful. She was tuned a few months ago, and no improvement. Oil change, air filter, and fuel filter were also changed. Any ideas?

Thanks. This is my first post, so forgive me if any of these things are complete newbie material!

Don

unsure on the steering lock, but whats ur carb situation? stock? exhaust?

well that aint right! who tuned it and what did they do? its pretty hard to get that bad of mileage with a stock setup!

Triborough Motorcycles in Brooklyn. They came highly recommended. I had a problem with my bike sputtering and killing while driving. Found that my gas tank was oxidizing and clogging my fuel filter. He Cleaned it out and has been fine since. Except that I still get about 57-60miles per tank. It's almost as bad as my jeep!

If you know of any repair/diagnostics in the NYC area, please let me know. Being a transplanted Southerner, i'm a little distrusting of most shops here.

Triborough Motorcycles in Brooklyn. They came highly recommended. I had a problem with my bike sputtering and killing while driving. Found that my gas tank was oxidizing and clogging my fuel filter. He Cleaned it out and has been fine since. Except that I still get about 57-60miles per tank. It's almost as bad as my jeep!