COPs Ignition: Why all the fuss?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

desert_max

Reaction score
First, let me just say that I have been an electrical engineer for about 35 years, so lets stay with empirical data and facts - not marketing hype. I'm really interested in hearing honest testimonials on COPs installations on the Vmax Gen 1. But, consider a few points in the review and assessment of perceived improvements after the swap.

I see lots of folks doing the COPs conversion here - probably more than on any other "vintage" bike. I'm wondering if, at least on the Vmax, it's mostly because the coils (at least the front ones) are such a pain in the ass to get to once the factory bits start to go away. Aside from a lot of the hyperbole found with regard to describing the conversion, let's face it, ignition upgrades in general, and cops mods in particular are definitely not the best bang for the buck.

Most COPs coils tend to have reduced secondary voltage levels - typically half or less than a full sized ignition coil. I'm pretty sure that, often, the perceived "improvements" in performance that folks report when upgrading their ignitions systems are due more to the fact that they've simply replaced faulty original components with working ones than the fact that the new ones are a "performance" upgrade. In fact, a decent working ignition (where before it might have been substandard) will mask also issues in carburetion - simulating even better improvement. The reverse can also be true (perfecting carb tune can compensate for weak ignition). This has long been discussed within the context of engine performance.

Have I missed something in this story? Definitely don’t see anything really wrong with them, it’s just that I would never call it a performance upgrade.