RIP, Dick Winters

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thank you Major Winters for all you did to allow us to live in this free country of ours.

Gone but never forgotten.

Chris

One Long and Lasting Salute Sir, R.I.P.. Thanks for what you and your "Band of Brothers" preserved for us...

Dave / SpecOps-13

Sad to see these boys go. They did so much for us. For all they did, and some are pizz'n our country, our sovereignty, away.

Both my dad's in my life fought hard in Europe and the Pacific. When I worked in the oil field, I ran into many of these guys there. A lot of these guys went to work in h efields after WWII. I met a B-17 top turrent gunner, many from the 3rd Army. I worked with one of Patton's Ghost Troops, Oscar. Old fart never got married. He gossiped like an old woman, but we loved him to death.

This reminds me of one neat thing that happened to me. A month before I got out of uniform, while driving home, I came over a hump in the 4 lane highway to have a smoking, Chevy pick up stalled in the middle of the lanes. Two cars ahead of me just missed it. I hit the brakes and went around on the left, seeing an old man with a hat on inside, smoking. I pulled over and ran back, watching a couple more cars just missing the truck. I opened the door to see the guy was cracking the engine. I could smell that the engine was fried. I finally got him to understand what I wanted to do and pushed him off to the side. He almost ran into the back of my car.