Science me about brake res/calipers

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davesax36

Reaction score
I have sean's busa caliper on a 320mm rotor on the front. Great idea. Looks good. Blah blah.

But... I have fjr masters. I have bled the front a few times now. The brakes work.... But the lever travels really far. I really haven't ridden it much with the setup, but I'm wondering if I have a mismatched master/caliper issue happening.

I also wouldn't mind just having any working combinations on here. I can get other masters if I need to, but I'm sure it's something I did wrong.

Fluid will shoot way up right at the beginning of the lever travel, so I'm not sure if it's an air issue or a plunger volume issue.

Anyway. Have at it, guys.

Years ago I posted about a chart showing how to determine the master cyl size required for the # of pistons you have. You might want to search for that.

Ah, here it is, MaxMidnight you have to thank. http://www.vintagebrake.com/mastercylinder.htm

Not to be confused w/this guy, who drank lots of Ovaltine:
images

Anyone know who this is (the character he played)? Babyboomer or older to know, I reckon... . Besides Superman, he was my favorite tv show as a kid

That's pretty cool. Has the chart been expanded to 6-piston calipers? I've got a 14mm master and it seems like I might somehow have a ratio up around 30 or something.

Have you tried the 6 piston with the stock Vmax master cylinder? I have it on mine with the FZR 6 piston calipers. The stock lever starts grabbing after 1/4 of total travel.

No, I haven't because I'd already swapped the Masters. I'm also only running one caliper, which I thought would make it seem a little more grab per travel. I don't have any stock parts here.

Who is the guy on the left? And, why does he drink Ovaltine? To become big and strong, so his hand can make the three-opposed piston dual calipers work?