2007 Vmax modifications

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jkoz10

Reaction score
So yeah I'm a newbie to the Vmax. Owned it for a couple weeks and its a lot of fun but I want more out of it and its 100% bone stock.
Let me know what your ideas are for making it into an even better performing street bike. I'll ride 50/50 solo and with a passenger.

My list of mandatory mods asap are;
Clutch rebuild (2200 miles - previous owner didn't know how ride a bike and was deathly afraid of the bike)

Exhaust / jetting / air intake

I'm going to either fab a backrest if I get time in my shop or I'll just buy one from Sean at Morley's. He seems to be a good person to deal with.

Aside from that I'm open to suggestions as I haven't owned a street bike in approx 16 years, I'm been in the woods on KTM's & Yamaha's doing enduro's / harscrambles.

Springs, Emulators, 1" lowered, Fluid Change to Front Forks... 1st.... And, be sure the neck bearings are properly set....
The bike will actually handle fairly well after this is all done..

Then, you can go on with the other Mods...:biglaugh: The fun ones....

Shift light and oil pressure gauges are a must have also. A lower profile windshield would nice to deflect at least some of the wind. I'm 6'2" so I'm catch a lot when upright.

Brakes and suspension. Both are lacking on the Gen 1 IMO.
Chris
What do you recommend for the brakes? I assume its a caliper swap from an R1 or something along those lines.

Seat. Stock one sucks.
Agree with the seat but I think that will be after i get it handling / performing to my liking. Corbin seat are soo pricey. High end off road buggy / suspension seats don't typically cost as much as a seat for these.

Springs, Emulators, 1" lowered, Fluid Change to Front Forks... 1st.... And, be sure the neck bearings are properly set....
The bike will actually handle fairly well after this is all done..