'88 max kicking out of gear

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gverde

Reaction score
Hi. I have an '88 max that likes to kick into neutral after I have shifted into second. Sometimes one after another, sometimes only once or twice then rides fine. Anyone know what I should be looking for? Also, is it easy enough to change the oil and filter? What kind of oil should I put in it?

Thanks in advance for any advicxe.

Gverde (Jeff)

sound like second gear needs to be replaced but im no expert. My dads 85 started doing that and he had to replace second gear.

Mobil 1 for oil its good stuff.

Yeah sounds like a second gear issue. Typically it requires replacing the 2nd gear set and the shift fork. This seems to be a common problem on 80's yamaha bikes that have been abused a lot. This will require the engine being removed from the bike and taken apart to replace the gears.

Oil is easy to change. With your year you have a cartiridge type oil filter unless you have a conversion to a spin-on filter type. The drain plug is on the botton of the engine.

I suggest using Shell Rotella-T 15w-40. You can find this oil in gallon jugs in the diesel oil section. Very good oil. Cleans really well and handles the abuse of high temps and carbon. Its only 15ish dollars a gallon also. This is enough to do an oil change on these bikes.

We undercut the gears and not a simple replacement (broken gears do have to be replaced). Our undercut gears are far better then even a new OEM gearset. Smoother more positive shifting and more durability. BUT, as noted the engine has to come out.

Sean

Yeah sounds like a second gear issue. Typically it requires replacing the 2nd gear set and the shift fork. This seems to be a common problem on 80's yamaha bikes that have been abused a lot. This will require the engine being removed from the bike and taken apart to replace the gears.