911 and cell phones

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I see no reason they can't figure out a way to triangulate your location using the cell system or GPS.

JMO

Chris

I see no reason they can't figure out a way to triangulate your location using the cell system or GPS.

JMO

Chris

Didja'read the article?????

This is what I do for a living so I can tell you if you call on a cell phone you had BETTER know where you are.......

We can triangulate......it still only gives us a spot on a map.....not an address...

I have had the system show people in a lake when they were actually in a bar about 20 miles away......

We get cell calls from Canada all the time......our system and theirs are not compatible.....does not work....

Cell phones can, and do, hit towers MANY miles away from where the caller actually is.....due to elevation or atmospheric conditions.....

Causes all kinds of havoc......We get a lot of information, like what fire/police/rescue agency to send, automatically with a landline phone, you do not have to even be able to speak.....we have many domestic incidents, assaults, etc. where the victim just dials the phone and slides it under a bed or sets it down.....we have the EXACT address, apartment # and all, and everything is being recorded.....

With a cell phone, we know your # and the situation and a general location....which would you rather have...

Bottom line.....know where you are at all times.....and never trust your life to anything that runs on batteries....

true. what about a 20 story apt building too. that'd be painful.

Two things
One my sprint navigation GPS tells me right where I am at, which direction I am going and how fast. Use it all the time, even on the bike.

Also I have family locater from sprint
I ping my kids and get a message of where they, or at least where their phone is at within 3 meters.