Biometric ignition

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CustomMax

Reaction score
As a locksmith, I'm so f'n sick of keys that I'm gonna design a biometric ( fingerprint) lock for the ign for our bikes. They have door locks now and they have come WAY down in price compared to what they were. So it's just gonna be a matter of how to rig this so it turns the ign to the run position just by placing whichever finger or fingers you have programmed in. I'm gonna do some more research on the specifics and I'll keep posting as I figure this out. Wish me luck, Ed

Sounds like a great Idea, I hate keys. I do my best to leave the keys in anything I own (not in the ignition). At work I carry 60+ keys for all the different locks, trucks and equiptment. What would a biometric ignition cost?

Cool idea Ed! I usually just keep the max key by itself with no fob so it doesn't scratch the scoop. Always afraid of loosing it when I'm off the bike though, so the bio would be great!

cool idea. i love not having a key. i just hop and go

Regards from my Taptalking Hercules Android

You can do that simply by using an Arduino board and the fingerprint reader coupled with a relay for ignition switch.

The reader is the key that inputs the board and then signals the power relay that works as the ignition switch... Ta da!...

I had set up with a supplier a few years ago but didn't put the first one on. This was going to allow you to carry a key fob in your pocket and as you approach the bike it would allow it to energize and be able to start.

Sean