Im interested in this vmax, not sure if its worth the trouble

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jammintrey

Reaction score
http://omaha.craigslist.org/mcy/1894307625.html

Is it worth the trouble to rebuild the engine, I am an aviation mechanic so I LOVE to take apart/rebuild and recondition....

I am not sure where to find bearings, seals, gaskets etc for the bike though, any help would be great!!

I have a feeling that it might have gotten hot being as the back two cylenders are bad and not the front.... But im not 100% sure of the cooling system on these vmax's\

I currently ride a 2003 sportster with some andrews n2 cams, (yes i know its slow thank you :) )

Sounds like a plausible idea, but I am not sure if I could locate a 1300 for a good price and get it fitted in there and wired up well... I would much rather rebuild the original engine because I can do everything by a service manual. I am somewhat anal about aftermarket modifications and reliability.

if u can land it for 1k its a deal. not a steal but a deal. in parts as it sits its worth what hes asking. he said the carbs were cleaned, those would sell for several hundred, as would the forks, wheels, scoops, etc etc.

you really cant take a loss on that, and at 1k you might be able to make a profit... i mean if it is too much to handle. id rather see a vmax live on but if it is its time to go.. so be it! it'll only make ours appreciate lol

Talk to Sean Morely. He can fill you in on all the particulars. It's basically the same motor.

that would be a great way to experience the max, buy one for 1k, trade the motor to morley and build up a mean morley muscle engine LOL!!! youd be livin a fantasy man its so unreal

Personally I would like to do the work myself It would be somewhat of a winter/free time project. Getting the motor rebuilt by someone else takes away half the fun!!