Is it worth a K&N air filter at service?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pittnathan

Reaction score
Hi. Just a quickie. Is it worth ordering a K&N air filter over a stock one? Will there be any more induction noise/ gained hp or is it a waste of money?

I have a K&N in my '85 and a stock in my '95 I honestly cannot tell a difference as far as noise is concerned. I have never heard of gained HP by adding a K&N the only real benefit that I see is that you wont need to buy air filters for a very long time. But Im no expert either just an avid VMax enthusiast.

Thats all I needed to hear. Probably just go with a stock one for the price difference. Thanks for your knowledge

Hello Pitt,
Raising up the "Y" and trimingthe top of the filter to fit can actually be worth a bit of hp. The "Y" is an inlet restriction in the upper RPM range--- but if you remove it there is a flat spot off idle. Thus raising the "Y" .

Lew

Yeah it's worth it because of reusability. It'll last as long as the bike. New stock filters are $40 if I remember right and should change every year.

Worth every penny.....will last the lifetime of your vehicle.
And you never have to clean the darn thing unless you live in Saudi.
I have one in my max and xj550....pods on my fx....and in my accord and suv.

Yes they are well worth it. Clean, re-oil and reuse forever. Not too heavy on the oil though. I had one "shrink" on me once. I called K&N and they sent me a new one, no questions asked and did not even ask for the old one back.

Yes, I agree w/the others. I have a stock K&N replacement; four K&N pods for the stage 7 Dynojet I have yet to install (I bought a used set of carbs already DJ stage 7-equipped off another member to swap-in, one day; & have two different 4/1's, will be experimenting), and also have K&N pods for my FZR1000.