Question about Vmax clutch and shifting

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kenreesesr

Reaction score
2 questions actually:

1) what is different about the Vmax clutch and other cycle clutches. Is it that it is a wet clutch that uses engine oil?

2) all the other bikes that I have owned, the way you knew for certain you were in 5th gear is you could toe up on the shifter and it had free up play. I find that many times I'm not sure if I'm in fifth, so I will try to shift again, only to find that I am in fifth gear. Maybe this is the novice in me coming out.

I've been riding my 85 for over 27 years now, and to this day, I find myself double checking 5th gear with a tow up attempt every now and again - even though I know the RPM's vs speedo readings by heart and coulda told what gear I was in by a simple glance down at the instruments. It just happens.

I don't know why our Vmaxes have a different feel to the shift lever after it's in 5th as compared to other makes/models.

1. It does have a wet clutch but so do many other motorcycles.
2. ^ See post above.

2 questions actually:

1) what is different about the Vmax clutch and other cycle clutches. Is it that it is a wet clutch that uses engine oil?

2) all the other bikes that I have owned, the way you knew for certain you were in 5th gear is you could toe up on the shifter and it had free up play. I find that many times I'm not sure if I'm in fifth, so I will try to shift again, only to find that I am in fifth gear. Maybe this is the novice in me coming out.

Im certainly no expert..but there are lots of bikes that have this same type of clutch setup.

and i know what ya mean..i been ridin my max for two months..and i almosr always go lookin for the "next gear" (ya know..the one that doesnt exist)
;)