V Max Newbie

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

birchwood85

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the max but not motorcycles, I have not yet bought bike but I am looking at an 85 with 36000 miles on her. The bike is in great shape and runs well no second gear issues. I go to haggle on bike this Thursday, asking $2600. I just found this site and will be doing a lot of exploring. Thanks ahead of time

make sure you don't pay too much for an '85 - if you look around you will find many 93-99 bikes for very similar / decent prices, and the main improvements (bigger forks and brakes, digital ignition) were introduced by Yamaha in '93.

:welcome_sign: to the forum. Lot's of knowledge on this site, from those who are more than willing to help a fellow VMax enthusiast out.

Just like NG said, you can spend another $1500 or so and have a 2000-ish
year motorcycle. It is pretty easy to start sinking some serious cash (and time) in an older bike. Don't make a quick decision and you will be fine.

And welcome to the forum!

Jeff

i agree with jeff and ng...

just don't be too anxious, make sure you get something worth it. that is a high amt of miles, just to be weary of. take tons of pics and post them up here and people will def give you their $.02

also, remove the faux tank and the airbox lid and see what the air filter looks like

make sure no mice or anything and just take a look around in there. should give you an idea of how it was maintained...

It's a buyer's market so don't be bashful. Check out as many bikes as you can. Consider the mileage, year, condition and asking price. Find the one you love the most and make your offer. You might get exactly what you're looking for and exactly what you want to spend. Good luck! Welcome to the forum, Birchwood.

Last edited:
Just like NG said, you can spend another $1500 or so and have a 2000-ish