1300 Turbo Vmax..... must use wheelie bars!!!!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hubeerjw

Reaction score
O.k. so it was my first night running my new turbo bike at the 1/4 mile. Weather was rainy all day then it cleared up and the sun was shining... it was like a sign from God! We loaded up the bike and headed to Cordova (the closest 1/4 mile track) It was not very busy, we got the bike unloaded, and decided to make a quick pass to see how everything worked. My first pass was a 10.319 at 136mph.... Pretty F-ing happy with that on a street tire with 11.5 psi in it. We decide not to put the wheelie bars on it and lower the rear tire pressure to 9 psi and see what happens. My first pass I broke the tire loose and my 60' was a 0.175......... not good!
Anyway, I hammered on the throttle like no one's business and let that clutch out like I was a pro and that mother-f-er came up on me so quick I got out of it, slammed down, the recoil hit, and I hammered on the throttle without even trying and the damn thing lifted again..... long story short. I need to use the wheelie bars even with a Shinko 190, and I also need to order a new oil pan from Mr. Sean Morley!!!!! Yes, I cracked it as it slammed down on the track. I don't think much oil (if any) got on the track, but it was seeping/weeping out when I got back to the pits, and I could see the hairline crack... live and learn I guess! Anyway, I was VERY happy with the 10.32 for my first 1/4 mile pass on the bike. I'll be getting an air shifter soon and will be sure to put my wheelie bars on next time! I'll be posting the vid soon.. Unfortunately, I was running against a Kawi that was running 8.5's so my run wasn't that impressive. Even worse, the vid of the wheelie pass got deleted somehow, but there were a few people in the crowd that were talking about it, so it must have been a little impressive.