Mythbusters: OE Rev limiter and overrev dangers

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

acammer

Reaction score
So, I am new to the Vmax, but not at all new to street bikes, and wringing their guts out. As I am sure most of you have experienced its real easy to miss that 1-2 shift when you're leaning into a wheelie and struggling to watch the tach out of the bottom of your eye. I've read the service manual and it does state there is a rev limiter in the factory ignition. Now, I can't be sure, but I will bet I kissed at least 10,500-11,000 briefly, no hint of a cutting out in any way. So, its either even higher than that, or it just doesn't exist. What can you guys confirm, or deny, regarding the supposed stock limiter.

Secondly, what are the realistic dangers of a brief over rev with this particular motor. From what I've read 10,500 is about the limit that you want to consider at the strip. How much over rev tolerance does this motor allow for.

I can tell I need a shift light for sure with this bike, I am trying to decide if I can be ok with just that, and still be at risk for an occasional missed shift, or if I should take a chance on a Dyna 3000 (which has a pretty poor reputation from what I have read), for the limiter function. I don't intend to race the hell out of this thing, but I didn't buy a Max to putt around with either, and some high performance riding will be taking place on a regular basis. I have searched the forum extensively and found mixed info, so I figured we could start a new, lively discussion and see if we can clarify some of the facts around a potential stock limiter, and what amount of over rev the Max will really tolerate.