New Vmax Convert

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vmax Marine

Reaction score
I just wanted to introduce my self as a new Vmax rider I purchased a 2006 Vmax with 4950 miles, for 6k. I think I got a pretty good deal on the bike it is currently 100% stock. I would post a pic but I am sure that every knows exactly what I am talking about.

Here is a little about me, I have been riding Sport bikes for seven years in various configurations from drag to track set up (in canyons not on an actual track).
Bikes: 2003 CBR 954RR, 2005 R6

I am a Former Marine with a couple tours in the sand box in an infantry unit. I had to get out in order to finish college. I don't mind felding questions about the military (Marine Corps or Iraq)

Being new to a V Max I have noticed a few things (these are mostly common issues):

- The stopping power of the front brakes is lacking

- I am not a fan of the Bias tires (I will switch to radials next season)

- The V Max is comfortable when riding between 50-75 mph, after that your hanging on for dear life. I have not had the death wobble I tested the bike to 120 mph I still had to hang the hell on mainly due to the fkn torque. I realize that this is not a high speed motorcycle, cruising comfortably at 100+ def not a bad thing keeps the tickets down.

- Neutral gear seems a bit small between 1st & 2nd

- I need to get use to filling the tank up more often

- Very comfortable riding position

- Its a cold blooded bastard in the morning

Over all I love this motorcycle I understand I have a few bits to modify, to make this closer to what I want. That is a Muscle Bike, so some of the bits I am adding this week are: UFO Dragstar exhaust, Drag Bars, Stage 1 Jet kit, K&N filter, and getting the V Max dyno tuned.