The Road to Diagnosis..

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Big E

Reaction score
have been having some starting issues with the V max have chased up and down the chassis just finished the spark plugs and took a look at all the grounds i could physically touch. and after all the forum surfing i think i may have traced it down to either my starter clutch or starter motor.
does anyone have an experience with diagnosing and or maintenance one or the other? i feel capable with servicing a the starter motor however the starter clutch require the removal of key internal clutch components which i have limited experience in. right now the V max only starts with jumper cables. if you can help with experience or assistance please share!

Did you do the "crimp" mod already?

Does it crank slowly?

Simply replacing the 2 brush motor with the 4 brush motor makes a huge difference, but many remove the motor and do a thorough cleaning of it and have seen a huge improvement.

Chris

You can do the starter clutch too, check out Mr morleys vidio!

have been having some starting issues with the V max have chased up and down the chassis just finished the spark plugs and took a look at all the grounds i could physically touch. and after all the forum surfing i think i may have traced it down to either my starter clutch or starter motor.
does anyone have an experience with diagnosing and or maintenance one or the other? i feel capable with servicing a the starter motor however the starter clutch require the removal of key internal clutch components which i have limited experience in. right now the V max only starts with jumper cables. if you can help with experience or assistance please share!

:punk: Sounds like the battery to me, change it. Good luck, Spurs

If it starts OK with booster cables then it's not going to be the starter clutch, starter motor or earths.

So,