radial on stock front rim

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shawn kloker

Reaction score
Is anyone else running an 18" radial on their stock front rim?

I have a 110/80zr18 Michelin Pilot Road radial on the front and it is wearing very funny.It looks like I never lean the bike at all.A 2" stip in the middle that is squared off.

For now I am going to replace the tire but I need to get a wider rim for it to work right.I think the tire is humped up too much in the middle.I have been running this front for over 2 years so a new tire will buy me some time.I just feel it is going to slide out from under me if I keep running it like this.

Kevin and I have been running radials on the stock front for a long time and they do wear funny. A wider wheel would be more benefical but now you're talking a lot more again.

Sean

I have a 110/80zr18 Michelin Pilot Road radial on the front and it is wearing very funny.It looks like I never lean the bike at all.A 2" stip in the middle that is squared off.

For now I am going to replace the tire but I need to get a wider rim for it to work right.I think the tire is humped up too much in the middle.I have been running this front for over 2 years so a new tire will buy me some time.I just feel it is going to slide out from under me if I keep running it like this.

Friend of mine is running the same size tire (don't know the brand) on his stock front wheel and has observed the same thing. He's planning on going to a wider front also...

Rusty

Those that are running a radial are you running a radial on the back also or just the stock biasply tire
I know your not supposed to mix maybe thats what is causing the coupling effect

Front and rear though you can run one way without problems (don't remember off hand which way it is for now).

Sean

French tires! lol

Avon makes a great tire for it too.