Stupid Mistake / Stupid Question

Discussion in 'VBoost Room' started by JrBiem, Mar 10, 2011.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

  1. Mar 10, 2011 #1

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay
    Ok, so I put new ISO grips on my max. I followed the directions, except the only difference is I didn't like the gap on the throttle side so I used the stock spacers to make it look the same on both sides. Everything seemed to work fine right after I put them in place, but now that the glue has set the throttle doesn't return when I release my hand (it's like built in cruise control, which I'm sure could be a very bad thing) So my question is, how can I fix this problem without ruining the grips?

    -JB
     
  2. Mar 10, 2011 #2

    gamorg02

    gamorg02

    gamorg02

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    12,330
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    cny
    is the spacer pinching the cables?
     
  3. Mar 10, 2011 #3

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay
    It doesn't appear to be. I just removed the top half of the switch cover so I could see better, and even with it off the throttle still sticks open. I see no glue seeping out anywhere either.
     
  4. Mar 10, 2011 #4

    naughtyG

    naughtyG

    naughtyG

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Freo, Western Australia
    It could be that you just pushed the grip in too far, and it's catching the end of the handle bar.

    Loosen the whole right switch assembly, and move it 2-3mm to the right. Does this help?
     
  5. Mar 10, 2011 #5

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay

    It slides easily along the bar, I moved it over to the right and tightened it back up. The throttle seems to open more smoothly but still wont snap shut, well actually it doesn't even roll slowly shut just stays wherever I leave it. I also removed the end cap so I could see inside. The end of the grip is not touching the bar and there is no glue between the throttle tube and the bar either.
     
  6. Mar 10, 2011 #6

    npthayer

    npthayer

    npthayer

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clio, MI
    Had the same problem when I installed my iso's. I sprayed WD-40 in the slots at the end of the grip and would twist the throttle to get the WD-40 worked in there. It helped a little because the throttle would slowly twist back to orginal position but would stick every once and awhile. Never got it to snap back like when the orignal grips were on.
     
  7. Mar 10, 2011 #7

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay

    Hmmm, that would really suck if the grips cause the problem since I cut my stock ones off and cant reuse them. :bang head:
     
  8. Mar 10, 2011 #8

    bigrubbers4x4

    bigrubbers4x4

    bigrubbers4x4

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windber pa
    i cut my throttle one off as well. i just put my ISO's on a few weeks ago and had to tap the throttle side on with a rubber mallet and mine dont stick at all. i didnt add any glue to mine since it was all dried up in the tube that came with the grips. i dont see them falling off though so i'm not worried. i have no clue what to tell you as far as a way to fix your problem but, good luck with it man. you could probably get some spray adhesive remover and try to spray it up in there and maybe break up the glue a little bit.
     
  9. Mar 10, 2011 #9

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay
    With a little not-so-gentle persuasion I was able to get the throttle side grip off (undamged) :clapping: - however, with no grip installed (just the throttle tube over the bar) the problem is still there. I wonder then, would this be a cable issue perhaps? :confused2:
     
  10. Mar 10, 2011 #10

    CaptainKyle

    CaptainKyle

    CaptainKyle

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,230
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Maryville , Tennesee
    Are you positive there is no glue in between the bar & throttle sleeve. I would bet there is some your not seeing.
     
  11. Mar 10, 2011 #11

    npthayer

    npthayer

    npthayer

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clio, MI

    +1
     
  12. Mar 10, 2011 #12

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay
    I will double check it and put some lube in there.
     
  13. Mar 10, 2011 #13

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay
    Thanks for the winning answer Kyle!! Your thoughts caused me to completely remove the throttle tube from the bar and sure 'nuff there was a decent amount of dried glue at the end of the bar, I filed it off and put everything back together and now it works like butter! :eusa_dance:

    -JB
     
  14. Mar 10, 2011 #14

    gamorg02

    gamorg02

    gamorg02

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    12,330
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    cny
    also check the L bracket where the cables goes into the carbs right under the left side scoop. those are very often not perfectly 90 which causes the cable to bind.
     
  15. Mar 10, 2011 #15

    gamorg02

    gamorg02

    gamorg02

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    12,330
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    cny
    ahh too late for me. glad u got her fixed!
     
  16. Mar 10, 2011 #16

    sdt354

    sdt354

    sdt354

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5,796
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Southern N.E.
    Cables out of adjustment can cause that situation.
    Steve-o
     
  17. Mar 10, 2011 #17

    Auggie_1970

    Auggie_1970

    Auggie_1970

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ewing, NJ
    Ok so lets see some pics of those grips with the spacer :)
     
  18. Mar 10, 2011 #18

    one2dmax

    one2dmax

    one2dmax

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    15,076
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Derby Kansas
    I just posted how we did it on facebook. Check the link in my signature.

    Sean
     
  19. Mar 10, 2011 #19

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    JrBiem

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay

    I'll post some pics to this thread when I get home from work in a few hours. I did it the same way Sean shows on facebook.

    Also I put the stock levers back on today too, because for whatever reason grabbing the brake with the exactrep lever just feels like a handful of mush and doesn't return properly when let go.
     
  20. Mar 11, 2011 #20

    Woody

    Woody

    Woody

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Glue , never used it. i use mx style grips. and put them on the old school way.
    spray paint inside the grip. let the extra paint run out of the grip. push them on.
    then after they dry.(overnight) I put saftey wire on. just like i've done on all my mx bikes ,3 wheelers and quads. never had a grip come loose or stick. lubeing the cables helps keep things nice and crisp.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white