The tire/tyre thread! Widest and best?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alldwayray

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie and this is my first time post. What is the widest tire you can install on stock rear wheels?

I found the ff:
AVON AM42R VENOM X BW - 170/80H15 REAR
PIRELLI MT66-R 180/70-15

Will they fit?

Thanks

Re: Widest tire on stock rear wheel

I think Sean Morley has shoe horned a 180 on it but commented that it was a bad idea as well...

yea, it fit and worked but rode a little funny.

Sean

I put on a 170 Metzeler 880 just tonight. It clears the swing arm by 1/16 inch without resorting to the washer swap. It looks kinda funny because it's wider than the fender, but I can't see it when I'm riding. :biglaugh:

Any pictures?

Sean, which brand and model did you mount?

Thanks for all the replies.

No pics of the 180, It was a bridgestone if I remember correctly. Bought it in Daytona in 2002 bikeweek when we were going through tires every other day!

Sean

I've run a 180/70-15 ME880 and it fit fine.

It really didn't give any more width than a 170 'cause the stock rim pulls i the sidewalls in so much.

It was also WAY shorter than stock; BAD IDEA! I couldn't wait to burn it off and go back to a 170/80-15.

Rusty

Rear tire

I'd like to put a new 170/80/15 Metzeler Marathon rear tire on my max, but I don't know if there is enough space between the tire and the swing arm on the left side.
Did someone put one on without a modification?

Re: Rear tire

I'd like to put a new 170/80/15 Metzeler Marathon rear tire on my max, but I don't know if there is enough space between the tire and the swing arm on the left side.

Hey Swiss,

Welcome! I merged your thread with an existing thread.