To Lower or not to lower

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phazernut

Reaction score
I'm considering doing a suspension upgrade on my 03. Will be getting the progressive front springs and probably the 444 shocks. Since I'm new to the V-Max world but certainly not new to bikes I'm wondering what I should do. I don't ride super aggressive and I sometimes ride two up. I weigh about 230 fully dressed. What advantages / disadvantages will the lowered bike get me over keeping it stock height. Also how much do I lower it? Do I get HD or regular weight springs?

I'm sure all of theses answers are here somewhere but I figured I'd put it all in one post.

I would say skip the progressive springs and go with RaceTech's straight rate + gold valve emulators for the forks.

A little scary on the install since you drill holes in the damping rod to disable it, but IMO worth the money big time.

I put the 1.0kg springs in for 220lbs (RaceTech has a calculator) and internally lowered the front 1". No issues bottoming the bike at all. Even the time or two I've had over 500lbs on it. I wouldn't go any lower than 1" if you like to corner though I scrape the pegs plenty as is.

The 412's are cheaper for the rear and plenty here are happy with them. Though 444's come in black so that's probably where I'll be going. I don't think this bike requires the HD springs in any config outside of that one guy that uses it to tow other bikes lol.

+ 1 on the Race Tech springs & emulators . I would move up from Progressive 412s and look at Progressive 430 shocks. Adjustable and look great.

Attachments

• Group 3   5-28-12 610.jpg
    Group 3 5-28-12 610.jpg
    93.1 KB · Views: 65
Hi once again gurus lol

I want to lower mine but want it low low
Like guard on wheel low
What size are standard shock? I wanna but others to replace them.