wavy discs

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newride88

Reaction score
This may sound like a really stupid question, but hey I'm a novice, so I'll ask anyway...
What's the difference between standard brake discs and the wavey discs available? I'm guessing they would grab harder, though thought I'd ask people that actually know.

Re: wavey discs

The idea of the wavy disk is that by being drilled and shaped as it is, it can be made to be lighter. That's the main advantage. It also offers a rougher surface to the pads, as well as better ventilation. And the main thing: they look great!

Interestingly, they appeared on all sportsbikes a few years ago, but a year later most manufacturers went back to the 'solid' look.
The off-road bikes, however, seem to have retained the design since, so I assume the wavy disk is more efficient in the dirt - prolly a combination of cooling and dirt dispersion.

:punk: That's right, they run cooler, stay cleaner, and less weight. They do look good too! Later

On an 88 bike like yours, the wavy disks are also going to be a larger than what you currently have. The larger disk will give you a little better braking, however you will need a bracket to relocate your calipers to the larger disk size.

Sean Morley can hook you up with those.

Another good idea as long as we are talking brakes is to upgrade to the R1 4 pot calipers from the single pot ones that are currently on your ride.
Install a set of EBC-HH pads and go to braided stainless brake lines.

This will add major beef to your V Max brakes.

I think Sean only does the adapters for the R1 and 'busa 6-pot calipers.

Jedi does the adapters to fit larger (wavy) disks using the original 85-92 Vmax calipers.